It’s the Little Things

Anyone who suffers from depression or anxiety knows that every day is a constant power struggle. If you’re like me and you have both, sometimes it’s all you can do to get out of bed. People who don’t suffer from it don’t know how exhausting it truly is to go through every day trying to keep up with everyone else, trying to remind yourself that it’s all in your head, trying to remember that people don’t notice as much as you think they do.

But there’s a silver lining to all of it. My friend reminded me this week of the value of the little things. For instance, I bought fresh avocados and tomatoes and everything I need to make Yumm bowls (for my non-Oregonian readers, they’re delightful rice bowls and the sauce is what pulls it all together) and just that little boost is something that makes a difference in my day.

People don’t realize just how much something small can mean to someone who wakes up each day on the wrong side of the bed. Sometimes I need something to pick me up because it’s hard to do it on my own. A phone call from my mom can change my whole morning. Having something to look forward to can lighten my week. My roommates took me to Kneaders last week after our trip to the Idaho Falls Temple Open House and they kept telling me about how great it was and I spent a majority of the week looking forward to the delicious sandwiches and pastries and as anyone who’s been to Kneaders knows, it’s delightful.

Of course, that doesn’t mean that the bigger things can’t be special, but there are all sorts of little things that are overlooked that deserve more recognition. Honestly, a parking spot where you can pull all the way through or a rainbow in the sprinklers can bring a smile to my face and make it a little easier to keep doing what I have to do.

For anyone that needs help for depression and anxiety but doesn’t know where to go, here’s some information.

For help with depression and anxiety:

Crisis Call Center
800-273-8255 or text ANSWER to 839863
Twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week
http://crisiscallcenter.org/crisis-services

Suicide Hotline Number: 800-784-2433

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

